Thumbs Up For The Galaxy

The Hitchiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams is a masterpiece with lots of twists and the narrator jumps from scene to scene really fast so it was sometimes a bit hard to follow. Like many other books this one starts off fairly boring but then it got way more interestning really fast and then there was no turning back… The plot was extremely addicting and I actually read the book in two sessions. I would’ve read it in one but after I had been reading the book to 2 a.m. my mom came yelling at me to go to sleep and so I had to continue at the next morning. Sometimes it was pretty hard to understand what they are talking about in the text because the story is very sci-fi and so it is filled with words that were pretty much made up. And for a person whos native language isn’t english it can be really difficult to understand.
This books story is great and characters colourful and I don’t think that the book was too diffucult to read even though my native language isn’t english. I would give the book a rating of 4 out of 5 because I really enjoyed it but there is parts where the story could’ve been told better and as it isn’t perfect I couldn’t give it any better rating than that. The book has also been made into a film which I have seen years ago but when reading this I couldn’t remember the film at all as it is so different than the book.

Below is a trailer for the film:

Diffucult words:

Lucid – Selkeä
Transpire – Käydä ilmi
Waft – Leijailla
Asphyxiate – Tukehtua
Stagnant – Seisova, pysähtynyt, seisahtanut, lamaantunut
Unfathomability – Käsittämättömyys

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. petra
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 17:38:58

    It really shows of your book review that you did find the book interesting and did enjoy about it. The book must be good if you would have wanted to read it at one time!:D You describe precise why you liked the book and what could have been done better. Maybe the review could have been a bit longer but however good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 87,128 hits