True Friendship

John Steinbeck’s Of mice and men (1937) tells a story of George Milton and Lennie Small, two migrant ranch workers during The Great Depression in California. The story of the two buddies is adverse and invigorating at the same time.

It’s amazing to see how much Lennie and George care about each other. Even when sometimes George gets mad at Lennie, deep down he cares for him. The story is indeed about true friendship. Even the tragic ending is about saving one’s friend from a bigger affliction.

The book is far cry from what I usually read, but in a stupendous way. The language is oldish and the two buddies use quite a lot of slang. That makes the reading more enjoyable, because I personally prefer free-spirited use of language.

After reading the book I was satisfied with how the story was told and how the characters were portrayed. The style was quite unique in terms of the plot. It didn’t follow the oh-so-usual line. All in all, I recommend this book to everyone interested in reading something rather disparate.

Bibliography:

Steinbeck, John. 1937. Of Mice And Men. New York:  Covici Friede Inc.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ben
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 20:20:41

    Text is easy to understand. This book appears to be a very interesting book.
    Your review made me interested in this book. I hope i can read this book as soon as possible.
    My opinion you have very fluent grammar and Text structure is really good.
    I really like your book review! So, good job! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Olga Dmitrieva
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 08:25:04

    I think the title is just right. When I saw the title I wanted to read a book review. I think that language and the structure is comprehensible. When I read book reviews in first in my mind came that:” it is good book which could be read during the Christmas holiday.”
    I like that Roote was wrote book reviews is a versatile.

    Reply

  3. Ms Leino
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 18:25:13

    Check the bibliography!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 87,128 hits
